top of page
  • laurengoodall19

Talking about injustice - Lauren

A post was written on the St Stephen’s social media. “We hear you; we see you and we’re committed as a church to standing with you”, This is a time for us to listen, to learn, to pray and to act.


Over the last week my heart has been broken seeing and hearing about the brutal death of George Floyd. This has stirred something in me, a feeling that I have never felt before. My eyes truly have been opened; the awful thing is that what happened to George has happened before to many others.


I never fully understood it and was in my own bubble that these issues were such a big thing, but now I am educating myself and truly my eyes have been opened.


I listened to a talk this week from a church from Elevation in America. The pastor was having a conversation with his friend who is also a pastor. What struck me the most was when they said that conversation about Racism needs to start within the home.


We can educate not only ourselves but our children too. These conversations can start when children are little. One way we can do this is by teaching children from a young age about what Racism is and injustice. Children pick our attitudes and copy them.

Below is a list of resources that hopefully can equip you to begin these conversations in your home.

Join us as a church in learning, praying and acting to bring change.


“Use your reality as a Christian to mediate situations, love others and stand up for wrong when you see it happening just as Jesus did”. (Children and youth work Magazine)

Love

Lauren

Resources

Parenting for Faith have a great article on talking about Injustice with your children:

some book suggestions:

All about families- By Felicity Brooks

The mega magic hair swap- By Rochelle Humes

Let’s talk about Race- Julius Lester

This book is Anti- Racist- By Tiffany Jewell

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page