top of page
  • laurengoodall19

Hope- By Caroline

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

Blog Encouragement - Hope


Hebrews 6: 19 We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain,


So often I feel like I am on a stormy sea being tossed about by the waves of life. Perhaps especially at the moment when we might have previously experienced a calm sea, or at least a predictable sea, but now we are contending with so many challenges tossing us about. It can feel disconcerting, unnerving and unsettling in this strange and previously unnavigated season.

This verse tells us that God is our certain and eternal hope like a strong, unbreakable anchor holding our souls to God himself. Interestingly I don’t think the anchor prevents us from being tossed about by the waves but the anchor does root and fix us regardless of what comes to knock us off course.


We are secure because the anchor holds onto us and keeps us from drifting away or being thrown in a different direction.


If you are feeling rather tossed about at the moment, as I am, can I encourage you to spend a few moments reading these verses. There are so many verses in the Bible on hope and I have chosen just a few which I hope (!) will encourage you.


Love Caroline


Each verse is taken from two translations. The first is from the NIV and then from The Passion Translation which is in italics.


Psalm 33:20 We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield.

The Lord alone is our radiant hope and we trust in him with all our hearts. His wrap-around presence will strengthen us.

Psalm 42:11 Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Saviour and my God.


So I say to my soul, “Don’t be discouraged. Don’t be disturbed. For I know my God will break through for me.” Then I’ll have plenty of reasons to praise him all over again. Yes, living before his face is my saving grace!

Romans 12:12 Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Let this hope burst forth within you, releasing a continual joy. Don’t give up in a time of trouble, but commune with God at all times.

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Now may God, the inspiration and fountain of hope, fill you to overflowing with uncontainable joy and perfect peace as you trust in him. And may the power of the Holy Spirit continually surround your life with his super-abundance until you radiate with hope!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page