top of page
  • laurengoodall19

Crossing the Jordan by Lauren

In Joshua chapter 3 we see the Israelite's were getting one step closer to the promised land. They were preparing to cross the river Jordan, one thing that struck me through the whole of the Joshua story. Was what had happened before they were at the point of crossing the Jordan river.


The Israelite's had been wandering around the desert for forty years, I bet when they set out on their journey to the promised land, they didn’t expect it to take so long. Nothing could have prepared them for the Journey they were on and it made me think that nothing could have prepared me for what we are facing right now, but the Israelites put their faith in God. Well sometimes they found this tricky and thought that the life they had before was better, but in fact the promise God had for them was so much better.


I don’t know about you but sometimes I think I know best and that my way is better than God’s, but this isn’t true, God’s plan is better. Sometimes God’s plan comes in an unexpected way but I just have to trust God because the plans he has for me are good.

Why don’t you read the story of the Israelite's crossing the Jordan it is in chapter 3 and 4 in the book of Joshua.


Or you could watch this video as a family: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FVDU4XnbolI


In the passage the priests go ahead of the Israelites and are told when they get to the river to stand in it. If I was told that instruction I would think it was very strange but they follow the instruction and sure enough when they get to the river they step in. “ yet as soon as the priests who carried the ark reached the Jordan and their feet touched the water’s edge the water from upstream stopped flowing” (Joshua 3:15). This verse could so easily be missed but as soon as they got to the water and put one foot in the water stopped flowing.


During this time, I have gone through every single emotion and I can get caught up in how I am feeling and that can become my focus. Just reading this story again gave me a different perspective on the Israelite's and what they went through. It made me think about how I am viewing this time we are in. I have begun asking the question’ God what do you want to teach me through this time,I haven’t become one of those people who are learning a new language or baking every day or trying a new hobby. If that is, you then you are amazing! The other day I was reading a Rend Collective blog titled’ you are enough’, and the thing is you are enough, and I am enough.

Each day it’s about having faith and trusting God. We are not walking through the river Jordan but it’s about taking the step of faith and seeing where God can take us to cross into the promised land that he has for you.


Here are some activity suggestions for you to do as a family:

Why don’t you spend some time praying as a family, one thing we do in kids church is the parenting for faith chat and catch way of praying.

If you have not used this before here is a link to the website, it is a good way to introduce children to listening to God for themselves.


Why not make a craft to remember the story, you could make a river and people to walk across the river to represent the Israelites. You could also write prayers in the centre of the river; these could be prayers of faith asking God to help you have more faith during this time.

Love Lauren x

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page