top of page
  • laurengoodall19

Endurance - By Caroline

Romans 5: 1-5

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2 through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. 3 Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.


I have been listening to the Bridgetown Church daily podcasts which I am enjoying and can recommend, and recently the theme has been endurance. I think that’s what we are all having to do at the moment. This lockdown is something we are needing to endure for some time.


This passage tells us that our sufferings / trials lead to perseverance, and perseverance, character, and character, hope. This encourages me that through all this God is developing my character! I think there’s a way to go yet!


What can we do to help us keep going when we have run out of energy or when we feel we’ve reached the lockdown wall?


For me – I experience low moments most days during this lockdown season which is unlike me as usually I’m quite a cheerful and buoyant person. Some days I feel as though I have already run further than I have the ability or stamina for yet we are not at the end and somehow I need to persevere.

Thinking of the marathon runner analogy – at certain times during their race they need to pause and take on refreshment. Whether that’s a big drink of water or some food to fuel their bodies. What is my equivalent? I need to pause – ‘Be still and know that I am God’ take my eyes off myself and look to my heavenly Father. That’s where I will find rest for my soul, knowing He completely accepts me for who I am, with all my failings and short fallings. I put on a favourite worship song – ‘I am who you say I am’ (Hillsong) and I soak in His love for me.

I ask the Holy Spirit to strengthen me, and more to the point lift my spirit, and help me take one step at a time, one day at a time.


May you and I together trust that God is at work through all this and as we persevere with God’s help, He will produce character in us!


May God bless you each day and give you all you need.

Love Caroline

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page