top of page
  • laurengoodall19

God can do immeasurably more- Caroline

Blog encouragement – God can do immeasurably more!


There’s a story I heard a few years ago and I was reminded of it yesterday; it’s the story of a child being taken by his mother to a concert hall where a famous world-renowned pianist was going to play. While the mother was talking to some people in the audience before the concert began, her child managed to slip away and before she had a chance to notice, he had gone up onto the stage, had sat down at the concert piano and started to play ‘twinkle, twinkle little star’ in a rather plonk, plonk fashion! The audience gasped and stared in horror and amazement! But then the famous pianist walked slowly onto the stage and leaning over the child he whispered ‘keep going you are doing great’. He placed his hands either side of the child’s hands on the keys and began to play with him. The sound was transformed as the pianist played above, below and around the notes the child played, making the most beautiful melody!


This is such a lovely picture of what I believe is happening in our lives. As we play our ‘plonk, plonk’ on the piano as it were, God comes to us, whispering ‘keep going you are great’ and He joins in what we are doing adding His transformation to our ‘plonk, plonk’ and making it into something beautiful!


For me at the moment, I feel that what I can offer families during lockdown isn’t as much as I would like to be able to do. I know I connect much better physically but I’m trusting that as I am obedient in giving what I can, God will do the rest and more than compensate for my failings.


Perhaps you feel as though you are falling short at the moment and that all you are managing is rather like that ‘plonk, plonk’ on the piano; an attempt at something good, but not good enough. Can I suggest you try 3 things:-

· Spend a moment now and offer your ‘piano playing’ to God, whatever that might represent for you, and ask Him to come alongside you, fill in the gaps and turn it into something beautiful. I know He will!


· Remember the 5 loaves and 2 fish story – when we offer the little we have to Jesus, He blesses it and multiplies it into something so much greater.


· Ask Him to do ‘immeasurably more’ and see what He does.


Ephesians 3:20-21 ‘Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.’


God bless you

Love Caroline

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page